He

he was all i ever needed
the promise of all i ever dreamed
then one day he left
promises so fragile fall to the floor
shattered broken crumpled
torn from my arms
nothing left of who he was
his smile lit my world
he called me a caged bird
only wanted to set me free
so i stepped to the door
cautious of the wide world offered
his tenderness leading me forward
his love calming my fears
his hands catching my tears
the sunny warmth of his love
thawing my soul
trust me he promised
suddenly a cloud
drifting over his sou
lin an instant the door slammed
barely begun
this journey out of myself
forever ended by pain

©DCkahlana

Leave a Reply

