On Social Networking (Or Thank God for Paxil)

I tend to get lost trying to keep up with all the forums AND groups AND blogs AND social networking sites. If its just one or the other I have an easier time of it. I’m not saying that works well for everyone but as a “newly-going-through-menopause-whether-I’m-supposed-to-or-not-blond-with-severe-ADD-tendencies” ONE thing is easy, 2 is difficult but I’ll muddle through, 3 is impossible and likely to irritate the “I’m-going-to-go-postal-on-your-butt-in-3.2-seconds-roiling-pile-of-slime that i seem to have growing inside me since my surgery.” Sigh… pass the Paxil and the caffe valium Captain Morgans mocha… with whip cream and if you forget my freakin’ sprinkles im letting Slimey out!

I am trying to be sweet and nice and positive but mostly I wanna scream! I would if I were ever alone but then the neighbors might think I’ve lost it and have to call the cops or something. It doesn’t help much that when I go on places like Facebook I have 52 requests to join someones Mafia, Sorority, Farming community, watergun fight or what have you. I’m not 15. I don’t want 50-gazillion games on my Facebook. What I want is to interact with the other adults in my world like we are adults. Nor do I have the time with all the other stuff going on my life to sit at the computer for endless hours goofing off building a virtual farm or fending off being squirted with vomit or urine or some other equally disgusting substance.

I think sometimes that I should simply drop the MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, Plurk, StumbleUpon and various other social networking sites and just tell people to call me or text me. Oh yeah and there’s another nifty little bit of technological time wasting. If you haven’t got anything to say why are you texting me 22 times a day? First of all you know I am asleep in the daylight hours. Second aside from “Hi, what you doing?” your texts consist of “LOL” and “Ok” Ooooo scintillating conversation we are having here. And since you know my life is mad busy and I am usually asleep when normal people are awake why are you texting me in the first place? Email me and I’ll give you my schedule so you aren’t waking me up 22 times a day to tell me LOL. Ok?

Typical text conversation:
You: “Hi. What are you doing?”
Me: Sleeping”
You: “LOL”
You: “Ok”
A couple of hours pass:
You: “Hi. What are you doing?”
Me: “Trying to sleep I have to work tonight”
You: “LOL”
You: “Ok”
A couple more hours pass:
You: “Hi. What are you doing?”
Me: “Reading a really boring textbook trying to go back to sleep since I have to work in 4 hours.”
You: “Lol”
You: “Ok”
A couple more hours pass:
You: “Hi. What are you doing?”
Me: “Hopping up on coffee and no-doz since I didnt get any sleep today”
You: “lol
You: “Ok”
I am now at work:
You: “Hi. What are you doing?”
Me: I’m at work
You “Lol”
You: “Ok”
You: “How come you never text me?”
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Leave a Reply

