My New Food Plan

So my doc says no more than 1700 calories per day in my daily dietary intake. I can not have dairy, sugar, soda, juice, fruit, any veggies that are not the actual plant (think broccoli, cabbage, etc), no potatoes, pork, processed food, junk food, fast food, fried foods, fats. Alright so it might be easier to list what I CAN have as well as like. Fish Venison (deer meat) Boneless skinless white meat chicken Lean red meat Cabbage Broccoli Cauliflower Celery Lettuce Spinach Water Coffee Tea Whole grain bread Whole grain pasta Vinegar dressings Brown Rice Wild Rice Canola oil (sparingly) Olive oil (sparingly) Anybody got any recipe ideas for this stuff? I have a few but not enough to make up a couple of weeks worth of different meals. I may end up resorting to the frozen meals already made up of the stuff I can have. I bought some low fat margarine spread stuff called Smart Balance, some low-fat Triscuits for snacking on and some stuff called Truvia to replace the sugar in my coffee and tea. The Truvia is made from stevia and takes just like any other artificial sweetener without the aspertame. I used a full packet in my first cup of coffee and it was a lil overpowering so cut back to half a packet. Other than these few changes I am at a loss as to how to proceed. I need to find some menu plans that will work with just these foods. Okay, the other thing I am working on is quitting smoking. I would like to quit but I cant spend a ton of money on the patches because they dont work for me. I have the 21mg patches sitting in a drawer in the bathroom because I tried to use them and wound up smoking while i had one on anyway. Not so good. I cant quit cold turkey either becaue I become an evil bitch from hell and thats no so good for ones relationships.

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Dani,

    I’m curious about your diet. I understand the calorie restriction, but did the doctor expressly prohibit the foods you listed as well? If so, I can only assume that there are some medical conditions that would require the elimination of all dairy and sugar, etc. If not, it’s actually rather easy to eat really well on limited calories.

    A couple of really good recipe sites I’ve found are http://www.eatingwell.com and http://www.delish.com. Of course, if you need additional guidance, it may not hurt to consult with a nutritionist or dietitian to lay out a formal eating plan for you.

    In the meantime, if you’re not already doing it, I’d urge you to start keeping a food journal, either online or with pen and paper. It’ll really help you get a much better understanding of what you’re putting in your body and how it makes you feel. I actually started a public group on Livestrong.com called “From Fatness to Fitness.” (http://www.livestrong.com/groups/group/from-fatness-to-fitness/) It’s a group open to anyone who wants to track their food and have both the support of, and the accountability to, a group of like-minded people. Best of luck on your journey. I promise you’ll enjoy the benefits later on.

    Scott

    PS. try the Commit lozenges instead. they work wonders.

    • dacrinkly Said:

      Hey Scott, thanks for the great advice and the links. We just found out I have hypoglycemia, anemia, a cyst on my throat in addition to already having Fibromylagia, asthma and recently having undergone an emergency hysterectomy. So my diet is going to have to change a lot in order to get my health back in balance. Because right now I feel like a walking disaster area lol.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

