Doing Better

April 12th, 2009

So, on the 9th of March I went in for my “old lady” checkup. You girls know the one i mean. The one where they torture you mercilessly for about 3 hours and not in a fun way. Anyway, because i was having some new pain issues they had to do a transvaginal ultrasound and an ultrasound of my left breast. First they found a “something” in my left breast so I needed an MRI to see what was going on there. Then they couldnt find body parts that should have been there on the pelvic ultrasound, so i had to have an MRI for that as well. Then my pap came back abnormal so they wanted a colposcopy for THAT. (Sighs) So, for a month I have been freaking out because only the gods-know-what was going on with the girl parts. Mostly because there was slight possibility that i had cancer again. I have had pre-cancerous cells before. So the prospect that it was back again was not a good one for me.

Well, yesterday I got the results of all my tests back. I am cancer-free and everything looks good, except they found a lesion on my right ovary. Since I have endometriosis anyway, they are going to do a hysterectomy and possibly remove the offending ovary as well. According to the doctor, being a smoker can cause abnormal paps. (sarcasm) Well, thanks for telling us all that ages ago. They didnt tell me either that one has to have HPV in order for them to look at abnormal paps for cancer. Since I dont have HPV (or anything else like it) i cant possibly have cancer. Wow! Thanks for making me worry for a month. Nice. Appreciate that… NOT! Thank the gods for a doctor who was finally upfront with me.

So, i go for a hysterectomy in 3 weeks. They have improved technology so much that my total down time is predicted at 2 weeks. I go in the hospital for an overnight. During that time they do the hysterectomy with a robot and then send me home the next day. I get 2 weeks off from work but the normal length of time it takes to recover is 4 to 6 days. The doctor gives me two weeks off of work because i heal slowly. Oh gosh whatever will i do with 2 weeks of not having to worry about going to work??? I know!! I’ll sit around on  the computer buggin the hell out of y’all here! ~grin~

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

